We found out thursday that our cat Whiskers was dead.

Apparently he was attacked by a dog or coyote. Our neighbor that keeps his horses on the property behind us called and said he had found him lying in his yard.

I’m going to assume he was killed by a dog, because a coyote wouldn’t have left the body behind. Wild animals aren’t thrill killers, and a coyote would have taken the carcass as food, especially at this time of year when they have litters to feed.

We all knew there were coyotes in the neighborhood; we all knew not to let him out at night, we all occasionally weren’t fast enough to grab him, and sometimes we all let him get out so he wouldn’t drive us crazy with his meowing, so we are all responsible for his death. There is plenty of blame to go around.

Whiskers, I’m sorry we didn’t do a better job of keeping you safe. I’m sorry we gave in when you begged to go out and run with your friends. I wish you were still here with us. We all miss you terribly. I wish I could hold you again.

I hope there is a place our pets go when they leave us. I hope it is a happy place filled with sunny skies, tall grass, forests, streams and lakes for them to play in, with lots of mice and squirrels for them to chase. I hope they make lots of new friends and reunite with the ones they had here.

They all deserve a place like that.

 

